Contests and competitions to inspire the coffee champion in you.

Stacks Image 15

Roast magazine's
Roaster of the Year

Roast magazine’s Roaster of the Year competition recognizes the top roasters in the country. The competition begins with a written questionnaire covering topics range from company mission statement, sustainable/employee practices to commitment to the industry.

Click above to view the next competition application.

From the written applications three finalists are chosen from two categories, roasting less than 100,000 lbs. per year and roasting more than 100,000 lbs. year. The finalists are required to send in 3 lbs. of roasted coffees. The coffees are cupped and scored. The cupping scores and the written scores are combined.

The company with the most points is crowned our Roaster of the Year. The competition is fierce and draws applications from every part of the country. Could you be our next Roaster of the Year?

Past Roaster of the Year winners

2005 winner—Counter Culture Coffee
2005 runnerup—Taylor Maid Farms

2006 winner—Stumptown Coffee Roasters
2006 runnerup—Intelligentsia Coffee and Tea
2006 runnerup—Dillanos Coffee Roasters

2007 winner—Micro—Metropolis Coffee Co.
2007 winner—Macro—Intelligentsia

2008 winner—Micro—Higher Ground Roasters
2008 winner—Macro—Zoka Coffee Roasters

2009 winner—Micro—Coffee Klatch
2009 winner—Macro—PT's Coffee Roasting Co.

2010 winner—Micro—Kickapoo Coffee
2010 winner—Macro—Equator Estates Coffee

2011 winner—Micro—Conscious Coffees
2011 winner—Macro—Dillanos Coffee Roasters

2012 winner—Micro—Bird Rock Coffee Roasters
2012 winner—Macro—Portland Coffee Roasting

2013 winner—Micro—Olympia Coffee Roasting Company
2013 winner—Macro–Gimme! Coffee

2014 winner—Micro—Pilot Coffee Roasters
2014 winner—Macro—Coda Coffee Company

2015 winner—Micro—Portola Coffee Lab
2015 winner—Macro—Reunion Island Coffee Roasters

2016 winner—Micro—Propeller Coffee Co
2016 winner—Macro—Crimson Cup Coffee & Tea

Stacks Image 16

Coffee Conservation Award
sponsored by Café Imports

The Coffee Conservation Award was developed to provide an incentive for forest conservation on coffee farms.

By recognizing a single, ecologically significant farm from a single country each year, the hope is to raise awareness worldwide about the importance of forest habitat in agricultural landscapes.

The Coffee Conservation Award is a joint venture between Cooper Ecological Monitoring, Inc., Roast Magazine and the American Birding Association through its Birder's Exchange program.

Past Coffee Conservation winners

2010 Winner— Finca El Porvenir, El Salvador

Announces Our 2017 Roaster of the Year Awards!

Stacks Image 48219

Thank you for reading Roast magazine.

© 2017 Roast Magazine |1631 NE Broadway, Portland, Oregon 97232 | Phone 503.282.2399 | Fax 503.282.2388 | E-mail